Skip to the content

What is a CLU & CLTC?

CLU: Chartered Life Underwriter

The CLU curriculum is administered by The American College in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania. The required course of study includes insurance and financial strategies, individual life insurance, life insurance law, estate planning, and planning for business owners and professionals, in addition to three electives. Founded in 1927, The American College is the nation’s leading educator of professionals in the insurance and financial services industry.

In addition to a comprehensive 8 course curriculum focussing on estate and retirement planning, there are 4 other qualifications candidates must be to obtain the CLU designation. They are:

  • Examinations – Pass a series of written examinations
  • Experience – Meet a “years of experience” requirement
  • Ethics – Maintain ethical standards and adheres to The American College’s Code of Ethics
  • Knowledge – Designees must earn re-certification every two years therefore insuring they are informed on the latest developments in financial services

CLTC: Certified in Long Term Care

The “Certified in Long-Term Care” (CLTC) program is the long-term care insurance industry’s only independent professional designation. Created in 1999, the course is focused on the field of long-term care planning and provides legal, accounting, insurance and financial service professionals the critical tools necessary to address the subject matter with their middle-age clients.

The goal is to teach financial representatives how to create a plan that preserves the emotional, physical, and financial well-being of a client’s family should care be necessary. Once established, options to fund that plan, including, Medicare, Medicaid, the Veterans Administration, self-funding and long-term care insurance, are reviewed and recommended where appropriate.

The CLTC designation which is owned by the CLTC Board of Standards, Inc. is not affiliated with or funded by any insurance sales or marketing organization. The quality of the program is evidenced by the granting of continuing education credits by all states as well as established programs such as the CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER(TM) certificant and Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU®) designations.